Chief Justice and Judges of the Supreme Court of Canada as at April 1, 1980

Chief Justice of Canada, The Rt. Hon. Bora Laskin, PC (appointed December 27, 1973, first appointed a Judge of the Supreme Court, March 23, 1970)

The Hon. Mr. Justice Ronald Martland (appointed January 15, 1958)

The Hon. Mr. Justice Roland Almon Ritchie (appointed May 5, 1959)

The Hon. Mr. Justice Robert George Brian Dickson (appointed March 26, 1973)

The Hon. Mr. Justice Joseph Philemon Jean Marie Beetz (appointed January 1, 1974)

The Hon, Mr. Justice Willard Zebedee Estey (appointed September 29, 1977)
The Hon, Mr. Justice William Rogers McIntyre (appointed January 1, 1979)

The Hon, Mr. Justice Julien H. Chouinard (appointed September 24, 1979)

The Hon. Mr. Justice Antonio Lamer (appointed March 28, 1980).

Federal Court of Canada. The Federal Court of Canada was constituted by an act of the Parliament of Canada under Section 101 of the British North America Act, 1867, which, after authorizing the creation of the Supreme Court of Canada, confers on Parliament authority to constitute other courts for the better administration of the laws of Canada. The Federal Court of Canada is a court of law, equity and admiralty and it is a superior court of record having civil and criminal jurisdiction (Section 3 of the act). The Exchequer Court of Canada, (established in 1875), was replaced in December 1970 by the Federal Court of Canada (SC 1970-71, c.1).

The court has two divisions called the Federal Court — Appeal Division, and the Federal Court — Trial Division. The appeal division may be called the Court of Appeal or Federal Court of Appeal (Section 4 of the act). The Court of Appeal consists of the chief justice of the Federal Court of Canada and five other judges. The trial division consists of the associate chief justice of the Federal Court of Canada and nine other judges. Every judge is an ex officio member of the division of which he is not a regular member (Section 5).

While all judges must live in or near the national capital region (Section 7), each division of the court can sit any place in Canada and the place and time of the sittings must be arranged to suit the convenience of the litigants (Sections 15 and 16). There is also authority in the statute (Section 7) for a rotation of judges to provide for a continuity of judicial availability in any place where the volume of work, or other circumstances, makes such an arrangement expedient.

Judges of the Federal Court of Canada as at April 1, 1980

Chief Justice, The Hon. Arthur Louis Thurlow (appointed January 4, 1980)
Associate Chief Justice, The Hon. James A. Jerome (appointed February 18, 1980)
Court of Appeal Judges: The Hon. Mr. Justice Louis Pratte (appointed to Trial Division, June 10, 1971; appointed to Court of Appeal, January 25, 1973), The Hon. Mr. Justice John J. Urie (appointed April 19, 1973), The Hon. Mr. Justice William F. Ryan (appointed April 11, 1974), The Hon. Mr. Justice Gerald Eric Le Dain (appointed September 1, 1975) The Hon. Mr. Justice Darrel V. Heald (appointed to Trial Division, July 9, 1971; appointed to Court of Appeal, December 4, 1975)
Trial Division Judges: The Hon. Mr. Justice A. Alex. Cattanach (appointed June 1, 1971), The Hon. Mr. Justice Hugh F. Gibson (appointed June 1, 1971), The Hon. Mr. Justice Allison A.M. Walsh (appointed June 1, 1971), The Hon. Mr. Justice George A. Addy (appointed September 17, 1973), The Hon. Mr. Justice Patrick M. Mahoney, PC (appointed September 13, 1973), The Hon. Mr. Justice Raymond G. Décary (appointed September 14, 1973), The Hon. Mr. Justice Dubé, PC (appointed April 9, 1975), The Hon. Mr. Justice Louis Marceau (appointed December 23, 1975).

The provincial judiciary

Certain provisions of the British North America Act govern to some extent the provincial judiciary. Under Section 92(14) the legislature of each province exclusively may make laws in relation to the administration of justice in the province including the constitution, maintenance and organization of provincial courts of both civil and criminal jurisdiction. Section 96 provides that the Governor General shall appoint the

2.4.2